Enshrining the Great Athletes of the San Francisco Bay Area
Roger Craig
One of the main goals of the Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame is to enshrine the great athletes of the Bay Area. This process begins with a list of eligible athletes (see criteria below) that is sent to a panel of voters comprised of veteran sportswriters and newscasters from around the Bay Area. The panel votes on contemporary and veteran athletes to be inducted, the votes are tallied, and a press release announces the new class of Enshrinees each fall. The class is then inducted into the Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame at the Enshrinement Banquet the following spring.
The Enshrinement Banquet
Roger Craig
The Enshrinement Banquet is held in the Ballroom at the Westin St. Francis and is attended by approximately 700 people. During the banquet, a short video highlight of each Enshrinee is featured, the Enshrinee is introduced by a close friend—usually a former teammate or coach, and gives an acceptance speech. Many amazing sports stories are heard throughout the night, and it is always a special moment when the athlete is inducted.
A Bronze Plaque For Each Inductee
Bronze Plaque Sample
Each Enshrinee receives a bronze plaque of their likeness which is displayed at the banquet and featured in the United Airlines terminal at SFO International Airport before being moved to a permanent location near the stadium, university, golf club, or school they were involved with in the Bay Area. For information on where individual plaques are located, please use the Inductees by Name Search feature above.
The Distinquished Achievement Award
Roger Craig
In 2008, the BASHOF Board of Directors decided to create a special “Distinguished Achievement Award” to honor those people who had been great contributors to sports in the Bay Area, but had not necessarily been on-field performers. Eddie DeBartolo Jr., former owner of the 5-time Super Bowl Champion San Francisco 49ers, was the first Enshrinee inducted into the Hall in this category.

To view the criteria for an athlete to be nominated, click here

© 2008–2017 Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame