Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame logoScholarships

Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame Scholarships
The Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame currently has four scholarships:
Toyota / Steve Young Scholar–Athlete Award
Steve YoungSteve Young is an inducted member in the Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame and the National Football League (NFL) Pro Football Hall of Fame. He is the recipient of the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award for the San Francisco 49ers Super Bowl XXIX and is currently an NFL analyst on ESPN.
Beginning in 2012, a $2,500 scholarship established in his honor is awarded annually to one male and one female college-bound high school senior whose academic and athletic careers have been exemplary and whose personal standards and accomplishments are a positive model for others. The scholarship presentations take place at the Annual Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame Enshrinement Banquet.
Click here for the 2017 Toyota / Steve Young Scholar - Athlete Award Application.
Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame
465 California Street, Suite 806
San Francisco, CA 94104
2012 scholarship winners

(L-R) Sruthi Ramaswami, Henry Hansel(President of the Northern California Toyota Dealers Association), Matthew Wang

Sruthi Ramaswami, Archbishop Mitty High School, Los Altos, California, and Matthew Wang, Piedmont High School, Piedmont, California—two outstanding college-bound scholars and tennis players—each received a $2,500 scholarship. They were honored for their academic and athletic achievements, as well as their involvement in their communities.
This year’s Toyota/Steve Young Scholar–Athlete Award applicants were composed of 129 high school students with a grade-point average (GPA) of 4.3, representing 59 cities, 10 Bay Area counties and 20 different sports.
Beau Venturi Memorial Scholarship Winners
Benjamin A. Olson, Balboa High School
Kristi Wong, Abraham Lincoln High School
Art Rosenbaum Sports Writing Scholarship
Art Rosenbaum's journalism career began as a prep writer when he was in high school and continued for 60 years at the San Francisco Chronicle. Art believed that the school newspaper that reaches all students is the most important extra-curricular activity on campus. When he retired in 1990, he was concerned that economic downsizing in education had eliminated many school papers. As an incentive to renew interest his friends and family created a fund at his retirement party, and the entire proceeds from the evening, $44,000, went into a scholarship fund. This fund became the core for the annual Art Rosenbaum High School Sports Writing Scholarships.
The Art Rosenbaum Sports Writing Scholarships are given to three individuals each year: $1,000 for 3rd place, $1,500 for 2nd place, and $2,500 for 1st place. A scholarship presentation is held during the pre-game ceremonies of a San Francisco Giants game each summer. Art Rosenbaum's granddaughters, Cindy and Jenn Viola, present the checks to the winners.
Information and applications are sent to all Bay Area high schools, and entries are due by April 30, 2012. The Art Rosenbaum Sports Writing Scholarship contest is open to Bay Area high school juniors and seniors who have written sports-related articles in their high school publications. Entries are judged on overall journalistic quality by a panel of veteran sportswriters. Students should contact their college advisor or journalism teacher about entering their work. Each high school may nominate two students for the scholarship (send only one article per student).
To nominate a student for the scholarship, send a letter from the student's academic advisor, teacher or newspaper advisor on school letterhead that includes the following:
  • School contact's phone number, address and email address
  • Student's phone number, address and email address
  • Name of article for the contest
  • An original or photocopy of the submitted article as published in the student paper, with byline, publication date and paper's name. Please highlight the article's title if more than one story appears on the page.
Send entries to:
Art Rosenbaum Scholarships
465 California Street, Suite 806
San Francisco, CA 94104

2013 Art Rosenbaum Sports Writing winners

photo credit: Mark Hasson

Art Rosenbaum Scholarship Presentation at AT&T Park.

2013 Art Rosenbaum Sports Writing Scholarship Winners:

  • 1st Place: Carissa Chan, Monta Vista High School, Cupertino. Click here for article.
  • 2nd Place: Josh Stern, Palo Alto Senior High School, Palo Alto. Click here for article.
  • 3rd Place: Sean Mock, Lick-Wilmerding High School. Click here for article.
  • Honorable Mention: Christine Ong, Andrew Tang, Madeline Myall, Luke Finkel & Shalaka Gole, Joyce Ho, Matthew Peterson, Matt Cummings, Noah Curhan, Melissa Mongan
© 2008-2017 Bay Area Sports Hall of Fame